The Philip Glass Ensemble - Music in Eight Parts & Other Works - Εικόνα

Following the relevant directive of the Ministry of Health, the concert is cancelled.

The Philip Glass Ensemble, the group formed by Philip Glass in 1968 as a laboratory for his music, lands at the Stavros Niarchos Hall for an important Athenian concert that will take us into the great composer’s unique musical universe.

Born in 1937 in Baltimore, Philip Glass is among the most influential music makers of the late 20th century. In the early 1960s he went to Paris and studied for two years with the great composer and conductor Nadia Boulanger.

Gradually, he started experimenting with many different music genres and expanded his repertoire by composing works for orchestra, as well as music for opera, dance, theater and film. By 1974, a vast body of music had become available to the Philip Glass Ensemble.

Early on, the Philip Glass Ensemble performed Glass’s experimental compositions in small galleries, as well as workshops in the restless art community in Soho, New York.

During the following 50 years, the ensemble has celebrated the bold spirit of its founder in the world’s most famous music venues. Long thought lost, Music in Eight Parts (1970) is described by Glass as “an abandoned piece,” which the composer was forced to sell to pay off debt.

In the SNFCC program, Music in Eight Parts will be joined by other landmark compositions for Philip Glass and the history of contemporary music: selections from the operas Einstein on the Beach and The Photographer, the film score Koyaanisqatsi, and Glassworks, the composer’s luminous calling card.

Michael Riesman: music director, keyboards
Lisa Bielawa: vocals, keyboard
Dan Bora: sound
Sam Sadigursky: saxophone, flute
Peter Hess: saxophones
Ryan Kelly: onstage sound
Mick Rossi: keyboards
Andrew Sterman: flute, piccolo, saxophones

By special arrangement with Philip Glass and Dunvagen Music Publishers, Inc.

Please note that Philip Glass will not be performing as part of this concert.


Monday 30/03 | 20.30

For ages 6+


For those that have already purchased tickets, for refund please follow the steps below:
• For tickets purchased online or over the phone, your card will be refunded automatically and no action is required on your part
• For tickets purchased at the Greek National Opera box office with cash, please visit the box office for your refund  (until 12/04)
• For tickets purchased at the Greek National Opera box office with card, the card will automatically be refunded and no action is required on your part
• For tickets purchased at Ticket Services box office (Panepistimiou 39) with cash or card, please visit the Ticket Services box office for your refund (until 12/04)

See also

Monday 09/03, 20:30

Cancellation: Cosmos: ERT National Symphony Orchestra


Sunday 15/03, 21:00

Cancellation: Jazz Chronicles - Koutsonanos & Gayer Duet


Sunday 29/03, 21:00

Cancellation: Jazz Chronicles - Michalis Katachanas Quintet