Cancellation: Jazz Chronicles - Michalis Katachanas Quintet - Εικόνα

Following the relevant directive of the Ministry of Health, the concert is cancelled.


The inventive Michalis Katachanas Quintet arrives at the SNFCC Lighthouse for an evocative music evening featuring instrumentals and compositions inspired by the Greek and Mediterranean traditions and charting contemporary European jazz paths.

In 2012 Michalis Katachanas formed his band, initially a quartet. With this group, he went on to perform in music venues and festivals; in recent years, he has composed music for theater and cinema.

Signaling a new creative era, the quartet ultimately became a quintet. At the SNFCC's concert we will enjoy the evolution of the band. Exploring the Greek, Mediterranean and Balkan musical heritage, the quintet has developed a distinctive sound, in original compositions and improvisation where tradition converses with American, European and avant-garde jazz.

A multifaceted composer and an instrumentalist with an unmistakable viola sound, Michalis Katachanas comfortably straddles different genres. Having worked with important Greek and international artists, he has performed in a large number of concerts and featured in several collaborations in Greek and international music releases.

Michalis Katachanas, viola
James Wylie, saxophone
Thodoris Kotsifas, guitar
Yiannis Papadopoulos, keyboards
Dimitris Klonis, drums

Sunday 29/03  |  21.00 


For those that have already purchased tickets, for refund please follow the steps below:
• For tickets purchased online or over the phone, your card will be refunded automatically and no action is required on your part
• For tickets purchased at the Greek National Opera box office with cash, please visit the box office for your refund  (until 12/04)
• For tickets purchased at the Greek National Opera box office with card, the card will automatically be refunded and no action is required on your part
• For tickets purchased at Ticket Services box office (Panepistimiou 39) with cash or card, please visit the Ticket Services box office for your refund (until 12/04)

See also

Monday 09/03, 20:30

Cancellation: Cosmos: ERT National Symphony Orchestra


Sunday 15/03, 21:00

Cancellation: Jazz Chronicles - Koutsonanos & Gayer Duet


Monday 30/03, 20:30

Cancellation: The Philip Glass Ensemble - Music in Eight Parts & Other Works